My Greatest Inspiration and my dream come true.

It’s been 3 years since I released my last record. Alot has happened. I’ve never stopped dreaming. One of my dreams came true today.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve visualized myself in a vocal booth, cutting a live track with a dream band. There was a bouquet of flowers and candles lit and parts arranged gorgeously. All for me. How incredible to be back doing what I love.

Yesterday during rehearsal with Brett Dennen on guitar, Victor Indrizzio on drums and Sean Hurley on bass, I could feel my cheeks flush while I sang what I consider my most important song. “All To Myself”. We were cutting the song and there was so much sweetness in it that we ended up with a keeper. Thankfully Vaughan Merrick was there to capture the moment.

This song was written while I was in the shower. I was pregnant and used to get cramps from stress. I wrote the song to my son about knowing him even though he wasn’t “here” yet. I saw the future. I knew what loving him felt like. I knew what watching him grow felt like. I could see it all so clearly. It made me strong enough to continue to follow my bliss even though it’s hard to do.

We live a humble happy life the two of us. I used my magic and made our studio apartment a real home. I squishy fit my mattress into the dining nook in the kitchen and partitioned myself a bedroom. I partitioned with curtains and put a toddler bed in the walk in closet making that Hank’s room. The main studio area is arranged in a way that allows it to serve as a dining room, a living room, a rehearsal, writing and recording space, a yoga,pilates and dance studio, a play room, a reading room and an office. Becoming a mother has made me very “industrious” as my grandmother would say. She considered this a virtue. I never understood the value of the meaning of the word until now. I used this newfound focus to invest in my art. I have trusted myself to the process of creation with the team that assembled around me. The outcome is turning out to be magical and versatile for me as well.

I found myself today in a world classs recording studio,  surrounded by masters in the field. As a group,my collaborators bring the experience of working with artists such as Beck, Gnarles Barkley, John Mayer, Fiona Apple and Amy Winehouse to name a few. The artists who have made records at this studio include the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac, Whitney Houston and many many other musicians we love until now. If not for my son I may have never had the dedication to  join that list. How wonderful to look back on a perplexing, at times devastating path, and to be able to understand how important it was to take that journey.

One thought on “My Greatest Inspiration and my dream come true.

  1. I am so excited for you Kate. It sounds so perfect. I love your music and always listen to it when I need a fresh perspective, when I need to detach from all the pain. Your music to me is calm, dignity and love. So thank you! Hank is such a lucky boy so have a mum so “industrious” and loving as you.
    PS The song you posted “You Honour Me” still makes me believe in love so thank you!

Leave a Reply

